Search This Blog

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Levels of Inspections for Chimneys

The Chimney Safety Institute of America describes the different types of chimney inspections as they are set in the NFPA 211 Standard. When a Certified Chimney Sweep performs an inspection he/she will be following the guidelines for a Level 1, Level 2 or Level 3 inspection of your chimney.

 See more at:

In my opinion, a Level 2 inspection should be performed whenever possible. With this type of inspection using an internal camera system to see the condition of the entire flue liner the homeowner will get a more accurate overview of the condition of the chimney. A Level 1 inspection should be reserved for very short flues only. A Level 3 inspection, which involves some demolition work, is not practical for most situations and is usually reserved for an instance where an event has occurred such as a structural fire or lighting strike.

Marge Padgitt is the president and CEO of HearthMasters, Inc. in Kansas City, Missouri.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.