Search This Blog

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Design/Build Contest

The 2016 MHA Design/Build Contest is Here!

To Masonry Heater Association of North America Members (and potential members)
The 2016 MHA Design/Build Contest is Here! 
Get your project photos and descriptions ready to go!
See the contest rules and entry forms here: 
- Masonry Heater: Primarily a masonry heater but may have attached heated bench, bake oven,or  heated water. 
- Bake Oven: A stand-alone bake oven with no other attached appliances. 
- Masonry. If it doesn't fit in one of the above categories it should go here. Can be a whole house, a wall, outdoor room, heater/fireplace/oven combo, etc. 

See the rules for more detailed information. Don't wait until the last minute to put your projects together - it takes time to do this right. 

For more information contact Marge Padgitt at

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Levels of Inspections for Chimneys

The Chimney Safety Institute of America describes the different types of chimney inspections as they are set in the NFPA 211 Standard. When a Certified Chimney Sweep performs an inspection he/she will be following the guidelines for a Level 1, Level 2 or Level 3 inspection of your chimney.

 See more at:

In my opinion, a Level 2 inspection should be performed whenever possible. With this type of inspection using an internal camera system to see the condition of the entire flue liner the homeowner will get a more accurate overview of the condition of the chimney. A Level 1 inspection should be reserved for very short flues only. A Level 3 inspection, which involves some demolition work, is not practical for most situations and is usually reserved for an instance where an event has occurred such as a structural fire or lighting strike.

Marge Padgitt is the president and CEO of HearthMasters, Inc. in Kansas City, Missouri.